Victory Laps

Written by Editorial Staff Category: History Issue: January 2014
Group Free
Pin It

Photos courtesy Getty Images/PIR; Kevin Harvick’s winning car at the AdvoCare 500 race at PIR in 2013

Some of the most famous names in racing have taken the checkered flag at Phoenix International Raceway. Here’s a handful.

1966: Mario Andretti wins his second IndyCar championship
1970: Steve McQueen wins the Arizona Region SCCA race
1990: Dale Earnhardt wins the Checker 500 NASCAR Winston Cup Series race
1997: Tony Stewart wins his first Copper World Classic
2007: Jeff Gordon wins the SUBWAY Fresh Fit 500
2009: Jimmie Johnson wins the Checker Auto Parts 500